Our  Chief Executive, Alastair MacGregor, had the pleasure of being asked to be on the panel of judges for the IFST Scottish Young Scientist of the Year Competition.  The event was Chaired by  Dr Jonathan Wilkin (Chair, IFST Scotland Branch). Joining Alastair, were Patrick Smyth (Food Standards Scotland),  Rachel Mirfattahi (Interface), Mark Watson (PepsiCo).
The winner of the undergraduate prize was Michael Norris from Glasgow Caledonian University for his presentation on the reformulation for health development of methods of extraction, detection and quantification of alfatoxins in sunflowers and sesame seeds and their edible oils.
The winner of the postgraduate prize was Kirst Black from Abertay University for her presentation on intercropping for brewing and distilling.
Special prize was awarded  to Sonya Stoykova of Abertay University  for her presentation on the effects of anthocyanin rich tea made from C.ternatea on post meal blood glucose levels amongst healthy adults.
left to right, Jonathan, Alastair, Patrick, Rachel and Mark
Michael 3rd from left and Kirsty 2nd from left